About NYMA  "Watchdogs of the North York Moors National Park, not lapdogs"  NYMA is a membership charity dedicated to safeguarding the landscape and culture of the North York Moors National Park and surrounding areas. We support development which respects both the special character of the Moors and the needs of residents, working communities and visitors. 


Our vision is of a beautiful and diverse countryside, with thriving villages and market towns set in a landscape of hills and valleys, moorland, farms and forests. 
NYMA is a strong partner of the North York Moors National Park Authority. We scrutinise and influence planning applications for business developments in the National Park and campaign against inappropriate ones. We support sustainable means of transport, carry out projects which foster understanding of the history, culture and environment of the Moors, and encourage land-use policies that favour biodiversity and natural beauty. 
The North Yorkshire Moors Association is a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (no. 1169240). The Constitution can be viewed here
To contact any member of the Council, please use the email addresses below or use the Contact form here


The North York Moors Association was founded in May 1985 by Peter Walker, Derek Statham, Gerald McGuire and Don Tilley. There were 80 foundation members. 
NYMA has around 400 members and is run by an Executive Council. The Council meets quarterly and the AGM is held in early autumn. The 2021-22 Trustees' Report can be found here and our audited accounts here. Earlier Trustees' Reports & Accounts can be found on the Charities Commission website, or by requesting them from us.  
NYMA is one of 12 'Friends of' societies which support Britain's national parks, helping to protect their landscapes and biodiversity and campaigning for their wise management and recreational use. Overall, there are around 20,000 members in these societies, and regular joint meetings are held at an annual conference and with the Campaign for National Parks


Officers of NYMA 
President: Ian Carstairs OBE 
Chair: Adrian Leaman, Chair@nyma.org.uk 
Vice-Chair: George Winn-Darley 
Executive Secretary: Janet Cochrane, Secretary@nyma.org.uk 
Hon. Treasurer: Brian Pearce 
Membership Secretary: membership@nyma.org.uk 
'Voice of the Moors' Editor: Janet Cochrane, editor@nyma.org.uk 
Walks Coordinator: Dave Moore, walks@nyma.org.uk 
Council Members: 
Tom Chadwick 
Raymond Clarke 
Albert Elliot 
Helen Gundry 
Tom Ratcliffe 
John Ritchie 
Colin Speakman 
Andy Wilson 
Elaine Wisdom 
Privacy Policy: 
At NYMA we are committed to protecting your privacy. 
We collect information from you when you give it to us directly, e.g. when you become a member of NYMA or sign up for our e-newsletter. This information might include your name, address and email address. 
We also collect non-personal information when you access our website through cookies. A cookie is a small file sent from our website to your computer to help us identify you quickly. It cannot be used to identify you personally. If you prefer not to accept cookies, your browser will allow you to do so. 
Any personal data is used and recorded by us in accordance with current data protection legislation. If you are a member of NYMA or if you have signed up to our mailing list we may occasionally send you information by email and seek your views about NYMA's campaigns. You can unsubscribe at any time. When relevant, we may contact you about the membership subscription you pay to NYMA. 
The information that you submit to us is stored on a database in the UK. We do not transfer any data outside of the UK, and we will never sell your information. If you have any questions regarding this, please contact us. 
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings